A Quick Guide to Progress 8 – Victoria Littler

What is Progress 8?

Progress 8 is a measure which captures the progress of students from the end of primary school to the end of secondary school. The link below provides more information about Progress 8:


Why are we using Progress 8?

So that all students count in the performance measures, not just those near the borderline of a pass or Grade C mark. Moreover, Progress 8 is a drive towards a more traditional core curriculum through accountability measures.  However, the downside is that because all students count, those who, for reasons beyond teachers’ control, are unable to perform in the exams have a significant effect on a school’s average figure.  Just one student who should achieve A grades (or the equivalent) but does not complete exams will lower the school’s average Achievement 8 and Progress 8 by a noticeable margin.

More information about progress 8

In Progress 8, every numerical grade awarded to a student (across 8 subjects) makes a difference. There are three ‘baskets’ that count:

  1. English and Maths
  2. EBacc Qualifications: Sciences, Computer sciences, Geography, History, Modern Foreign Languages (students need a minimum of three subjects from this ‘basket’)
  3.  The ‘open’ group: GCSEs and any other approved academic, arts or vocational qualifications (one of these subjects counts towards Progress 8)

All subjects carry a maximum score of 8 (A* = 8, A = 7, B = 6, C = 5, D = 4, E = 3, F = 2, G = 1), however, Maths and English count double. Therefore, the maximum overall Attainment score that a student can achieve is 80. Last year, the average score of pupils at Wilmslow High School was 54.0.

A pupil’s Progress 8 score is defined as their Attainment score e.g. 54.0, minus their estimated Attainment 8 score. The estimated Attainment 8 score is the average Attainment 8 score of all pupils nationally with the same prior attainment at the end of Key Stage 2.

A video summary of Progress 8 is available below: